Philippine Holidays 2017

MALACA√ĎANG on Thursday has issued Proclamation 50 listing the regular holidays and special non-working days for 2017.

The list of regular holidays and special non-working days, all approved by President Rodrigo Duterte, are as follows:

*Regular Holidays

January 1 (Sunday) - New Year's Day

April 9 (Sunday) - Araw ng Kagitingan

April 13 - Maundy Thursday

April 14 - Good Friday

May 1 (Monday) - Labor Day

June 12 (Monday) - Independence Day

August 28 (Monday) - National Heroes Day

November 30 (Thursday) - Bonifacio Day

December 25 (Monday) - Christmas Day

December 30 (Saturday) - Rizal Day

*Special Non-Working Days

January 28 (Saturday) - Chinese New Year

February 25 (Saturday) - Edsa People Power Revolution Anniversary

April 15 - Black Saturday

August 21 (Monday) - Ninoy Aquino Day

October 31 (Tuesday) - Additional special non-working day

November 1 (Wednesday) - All Saints Day

December 31 (Sunday) - Last Day of the Year

Duterte said January 28 is declared special non-working day as Chinese New Year "is one of the most revered and festive events celebrated not only in China but also in the Philippines."

Edsa People Power Revolution, the President said, has to be commemorated because it "restored and ushered political, social and economic reforms in the country."

The President said that Black Saturday, which falls on April 15, has been traditionally declared as special non-working day as the observance of Holy Week is "one of the most cherished traditions of our predominantly Catholic people."

He said declaring October 31 as an additional non-working day throughout the country "will strengthen family ties by providing more time for the traditional All Saints' Day commemorative activities, and will promote domestic tourism as well."

Duterte said the proclamations declaring national holidays for the observance of Eid'l Fitr and Eid'l Adha will be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been determined in the accordance with the Islamic calendar or the lunar calendar.

The proclamation was signed by Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea on August 16.

Latest Headlines