Dayaw: Indigenous Peoples Festival' 2013 Goes International in Leyte

Come October 3-5, 2013, around 440 Indigenous Peoples artists and cultural leaders and 64 foreign traditional arts masters will converge in Leyte for the grand Dayaw Festival 2013

This was disclosed by with Commissioner Joycie Dorado-Alegre of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, during a media interaction at the PIA Region 8 Office.

Commissioner Dorado who is head of the NCCA’s Sub-commission on Cultural Communities and Traditional Arts, said that Dayaw Festival is NCCA’s contribution to the annual celebration of National Indigenous Peoples’ Month in October.

Dayaw Festival is a grand showcase of performing arts, ritual performances, food festival, exhibit of authentic traditional houses, arts/crafts bazaar, schools of living tradition exhibit, indigenous games, films by indigenous peoples' filmmakers, fashion show of authentic traditional wear, forums and interactive arts/crafts demonstrations, cultural exchange and fellowships.

The Festival focuses the spotlight on the country’s indigenous peoples, celebrating their arts and ways of life, discussing important issues and making more people aware of the richness and importance of indigenous cultures, Commissioner Dorado said.

This festival aims provide venue for indigenous peoples to celebrate the richness of their cultures; allow cultural exchanges that will foster deeper cultural understanding to sustain a culture of peace; provide opportunity to discuss IP rights; give students and other people a chance to deepen their awareness and appreciation of indigenous cultures; recognize the expertise and contributions of indigenous communities; and advocate for the preservation as well as integration of traditional culture into the national cultural mainstream.

For this year’s Dayaw Festival, NCCA has partnered with the Province of Leyte under Governor Dominic L. Petilla as the LGU Lead Host, with implementing NGO partner Leyte-Samar Heritage Society, Inc. (LSHSI), LGU co-host Palo Municipal Government, and host academic institutions led by the U.P.Visayas Tacloban College, Leyte Normal University, Eastern Visayas State University, and Leyte National High School. (PIA 8)

Latest Headlines